10 MSU faculty honored with University Distinguished Professor designation


Ten Michigan State University faculty have been named University Distinguished Professor in recognition of their outstanding achievements in teaching, research and public service.

The designations were recommended by Interim Provost Thomas D. Jeitschko, Ph.D., and Interim President Teresa K. Woodruff, Ph.D., and approved by the MSU Board of Trustees at its June 16 meeting. Designations were effective immediately.

The recognition is among the highest honors that can be bestowed on a faculty member by the university. Those selected for the title have been recognized nationally and internationally for their exceptional teaching, outstanding record of public service, and scholarly and creative achievements.

Individuals holding the professorship will receive, in addition to their salary, a stipend of $5,000 per year for five years to support professional activities.

A reception to honor the newly designated University Distinguished Professors will be held on Nov. 16.

The newly named University Distinguished Professors include Michael Boivin, Professor and Director of Research, Departments of Psychiatry and Neurology & Ophthalmology, College of Osteopathic Medicine.

Read more here.